The 10 Best Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown Episodes

The definitive list of the best of the best from his #1 fan

Mitchell Peterson
11 min readJun 24, 2021
Photo in Madrid from the author.

Increasingly the show became about the world around him and the frame outside of where he was standing. And I think he really understood the real power in his position was getting the cameras to the place in the first place so that he could turn them around, so that he could put the people, who otherwise would never be on camera, on camera. So he could put the cultures and the traditions that have never been seen before on camera. So he could show us something, not just show us him seeing something. -Andy Greenwald

Narrowing it down to my favorite ten Parts Unknown episodes is almost as difficult as putting how much Anthony Bourdain meant to me into words. They’re feats that I cannot adequately accomplish and never truly feel completed. Can one ever voice the real impact of a personal hero?

Watching his stuff for a good fourteen years, I wear the influence on my soul. What I’m doing, where I’m living, and how I write are all inextricably linked to Tony Bourdain’s books and the television he made. My life, it’s path, and my attitude towards just about everything cannot be separated from that cranky chef-writer-professional-traveler.

--

--

Mitchell Peterson

Freelance writer who spent nine years outside the US, currently in rural America writing the Substack bestseller 18 Uncles.